Wednesday, June 4, 2014

Canonization day of India's new saints to be decided June 12

Blessed Kuriakose Elias Chavara ‎(‎1805 to 1871‎) to be declared saint along with Blessed Euphrasia Eluvanthingal (‎1877- 1952)
Cardinals who are in Rome will gather around Pope Francis for a consistory on June 12 to decide upon ‎the date for the canonization of 6 future saints of the Catholic Church, among them India’s Fr. Kuriakose Elias Chavara and Sr. ‎ Euphrasia ‎ Eluvathingal.  Blessed Chavara, belonging to India’s Syro-Malabar Catholic ‎Church based in Kerala state, founded the Congregation of the Carmelites of Mary Immaculate.  He ‎lived from 1805 to 1871.   Blessed Euphrasia ‎ of the Congregation ‎of the Mother of Carmel, also belonged to the Syro-Malabar Catholic Church.  She was born in 1877 ‎and died in 1952.  The other four future saints are all Italians, namely, Bishop Giovanni Antonio Farina of Vicenza of ‎the 19th century,  Franciscan priest  Fr. Ludovico da Casoria also of the 19th century, Brother  Nicola da ‎Longobardi of the Order of the Minims who lived in the 17th century and Brother Amato Ronconi of ‎the Third Order of St. Francis of the 13th century.

No comments:

Post a Comment